top of page
Yoga Retreat

Chakra for Parkinson's

What are chakras?

Imagine seven spinning disks of light within your body, aligned along your spine from the base to the crown of your head. These are your chakras, believed to govern different aspects of your physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. When open and balanced, they allow energy to flow freely, contributing to a sense of wholeness and harmony.

The 7 main chakras:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of your spine, it governs grounding, stability, and survival. Think of it as your anchor to the earth, providing a sense of security and belonging.

  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Situated below your belly button, it deals with creativity, pleasure, and emotions. It fuels your passion, sensuality, and openness to life's experiences.

  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Located in your stomach area, it governs personal power, confidence, and self-esteem. It's your seat of inner fire, driving your willpower and sense of control.

  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): Sitting within your chest, it governs love, compassion, and empathy. It promotes connection, forgiveness, and unconditional acceptance, both for yourself and others.

  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Located in your throat, it governs communication, self-expression, and truth. It empowers you to speak your truth, listen actively, and express yourself authentically.

  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Situated between your eyebrows, it governs intuition, wisdom, and psychic ability. It enhances your inner vision, clarity of thought, and connection to your higher self.

  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Located at the top of your head, it governs spirituality, enlightenment, and connection to the divine. It opens you to universal consciousness, transcending individual limitations.

How to work with your chakras:

There are many ways to keep your chakras balanced and healthy:

Yoga and meditation: These practices specifically target the chakras through postures, breathing exercises, and visualizations.

Affirmations: Positive statements specific to each chakra can help shift your mindset and energy towards balance.

Crystals and sound therapy: Different stones and frequencies are associated with each chakra, and utilizing them can help clear blockages and enhance their flow.

Nature and movement: Spending time in nature and engaging in movement practices like dance or martial arts can ground your energy and stimulate your chakras.

Remember, chakra work is a journey, not a destination. Be patient with yourself, explore different practices, and trust your intuition.


The more you learn about your chakras, the more empowered you become to cultivate well-being in all aspects of your life.

Active Senior Couple
Senior Yoga Class

Get started with Chakra's